Telemarketing and Internet Frauds
I'm sure that there are many other list like this, but, I decided to add
my own...
TELEMARKETING FRAUD
To opt out of telemarking calls, go to http://donotcall.gov
The US government and US telemarketers are supposed to enforce
this list as of Oct 1, 2003. Ya right,
I'm not holding my breath. However, I entered my phone numbers
in it and I will see what happens after Oct 1.
I thought that it was illegal to use robotic dialers playing recorded
messages for commercial telemarketing. I've been getting hit with
a ton of them lately mostly for:
-
Trips to Walt Disney. I actually pushed "1" to talk to an live
operator who hung up on me when I asked for their address.
-
Trips to Las Vegas
-
Reduce your high interest loads (I don't have any). These come from
"Jeffery" at 800-990-3990 every couple of days
A fraud that I fell for:
I got a call from the Virginia Coalition
of Pollice and Deputy Sheriffs. They are using phone list
of business owners and asking them to help the community. They say
that they are a 501-C charity helping the local police. They also
claim that by displaying their sticker on your car you may get out of speeding
tickets (of couse I thought that this was probably not true, but what the
heck). I volunteered to donate some money. Can you image my
surprise when the "bill" arrived and it stated in small letters at the
end of the invoice that VCPDS is NOT a charity! I did not
send them any money, and they have now sent me a "Late Notice"! Screw
them! I started investigating VCPDS and they are some kind of little
money making organization that has a little web site hosted by a local
dial up ISP (they don't even have their own domain). Their site is
at http://users.erols.com/vcops/vcopmain.html
(last updated in 1997). I feel like such a fool, oh well.
INTERNET FRAUD
A large list of SPAMMERs and other evil people is located at http://www.unixhub.com/block.html
And, then there is SPAM. Why in the world are people buying stuff
from these idiots? Ed Kohler sent me an interesting email.
He investigated a SPAMMER that claimed to increase your web site's
hit rate. Ed is probably interested in this because his company does
web work (and sort of the same thing). However, his write up is pretty
good. His write up is at:
http://www.haystackinaneedle.com/news/200308-keyword-property-center.htm
(oh god, he's using Microsoft products. The CORRECT file type
is HTML!! Oh well..)